Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood

Margaret Eleanor Atwood (Ottawa, 18 de noviembre de 1939) es una prolífica poeta, novelista, crítica literaria, profesora y activista política canadiense. Es miembro del organismo de derechos humanos Amnistía Internacional y una de las personas que presiden BirdLife International, en defensa de las aves. En la actualidad divide su tiempo entre Toronto y Pelee Island, en Ontario.

  • Edad:
  • Fecha de nacimiento: 1939-11-18
  • Lugar de nacimiento: Ottawa, Canadá


Margaret Eleanor Atwood CC OOnt FRSC FRSL (born November 18, 1939) is a Canadian poet, novelist, literary critic, essayist, inventor, teacher and environmental activist. She has published seventeen books of poetry, sixteen novels, ten books of non-fiction, eight collections of short fiction, eight children's books, and one graphic novel, as well as a number of small press editions in poetry and fiction. Atwood and her writing have won numerous awards and honors including the Man Booker Prize, Arthur C. Clarke Award, Governor General's Award, and the National Book Critics and PEN Center USA Lifetime Achievement Awards. Atwood is also the inventor and developer of the LongPen and associated technologies that facilitate the remote robotic writing of documents. As a novelist and poet, Atwood's works encompass a variety of themes including the power of language, gender and identity, religion and myth, climate change, and "power politics." Many of her poems are inspired by myths and fairy tales which interested her from a very early age. Among her contributions to Canadian literature, Atwood is a founder of the Griffin Poetry Prize and Writers' Trust of Canada.